Prediction – Bijapur Bulls takes on Cruising Blasters

Bengaluru Blasters vs Bijapur Bulls Info:

Date of match: August 22, 2018

Time of Match: 18:30 IST

Location of Match: KSCA Hubli Cricket Ground, Hubli

Format: T20

Stage: Group Stage

Tournament: Karnataka Premier League

Team A: Bengaluru Blasters

Team B: Bijapur Bulls

Team A Captain: Robin Uthappa

Team B Captain: Bharath Chipli


Any team would like a comfortable win but what teaches you most about your side is how you react under pressure and that’s where Blasters have the advantage over other sides so far in the tournament. Not only they have had a convincing victory in the first game where they scored a mammoth 228 runs on the board and won the game by a huge margin of 67 runs against the Panthers. They also had a close game against Bellary Tuskers where they won the game by a close margin of 6 runs.

While the first game would have thrilled the Blasters, they would have been especially pleased about their second game where at one stage it seemed like they were out of the game. From 67-6 at one stage to reach a match-winning total of 167 was a commendable effort in itself and then to defend it when it looked like Tuskers would chase the total down was an outstanding effort from the bowlers.

Bijapur Bulls, therefore, has a big task on their hands. While their opponents seem to have all the momentum in the world, they will have to scrap their way through somehow to register a win here. Bharat Chipli especially has a huge task to keep his team in the right frame of mind to counter the might of Bengaluru Blasters.

They would like to take confidence from the last game these two sides played last year where the Bulls came on top by just 1 run. While the squad members have changed the core remains the same. Hence, opportunity lies ahead for the likes of KC Cariappa, Bharat Chipli, MG Naveen to impress one an all and get one past the likes of Robin Uthappa and co.

The sides will also have to contend with the weather which might play the spoilsport and curtail the game short. In that case, teams would like to chase and will need their bowlers to have a good economy rate if they can’t pick up a wicket.


Bijapur Bulls takes on Bengaluru Blasters who are riding high in confidence. They have won both their games and in two contrasting fashions. Bijapur Bulls, on the other hand, would be hoping to get one past them in this game. It will be the third game for both the teams and while a win for Blasters would put them in a very comforting position to reach the semi-finals, the loss for Bulls could mean tough times ahead for them in the tournament.


  • M Vishwanathan
  • KB Pawan
  • Robin Uthappa
  • Pavan Deshpande
  • M Bhandage
  • CJ William
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • B Devaraj
  • Abhishek Bhatt
  • Mitrakanth Yadav
  • V Koushik


  • Bharath Chipli
  •  SA Bhavane
  • Anurag Bajpai
  • M Kaunain Abbas
  • KN Bharath
  • SN Raju
  • MG Naveen
  • RG More
  • KC Cariappa
  • Z Farooqi
  • KP Appanna


Both the victories of Bengaluru Blasters have come when they have set a target on the board. Bijapur Bulls would like to change that fact and would like to bat first and put the scoreboard pressure on the Blasters. However, they may have to change that plan if there is rain around, in which they will have to chase the total as the D/L method tends to favour the side batting second.


The pitch might be little damp due to rain around and do a bit initially. However, in course of 40 overs, nature may not change much. If it rains, then that makes the task a lot easier for the captains to decide what to do. They will choose to chase and let their bowlers use the juiced-up wicket initially and pick up a few wickets upfront.


Bengaluru Blasters will begin the game as an overwhelming favourite considering their exploits in their last two games. However, if Bijapur Bulls bat first and put up a good total on the board it will be interesting to see how Blasters respond. Regardless, Blasters have the ammunition and firepower to get the better of Bulls here. While Bulls have more conservative players Blasters due to the presence of dynamic Uthappa has the edge over them. Hence, we are going with Blasters as our favourites for this game.

Who will Win? – Bengaluru Blasters
Top Batsman (Runs Scored) – 50+, Robin Uthappa
Top Bowler (Wickets taken) – 3, M Bhandage
Most Sixes – Robin Uthappa

Bet Now and Win!

Leave a Reply