IPL 2019 the Biggest Cricket Event of the Year

IPL 2019 the Biggest Cricket Event of the Year

The 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will run from March 29 to May 19, 2019. This will be the first time the IPL starts in March – the tournament traditionally gets going in either the first or the second week of April. This time, however, the IPL will start and finish early in order to accommodate the ICC World Cup, which begins on May 30. Due to security concerns over the 2019 Indian general election, the IPL might not even be held in India, with South Africa and UAE the top candidates to host the tournament if needed. The Rainbow Nation hosted the IPL in 2009, one of two occasions that it was held outside India. The second time was during the 2014 Indian general election when the cash-rich T20 league was divided into two phases – the first played in the UAE and the second in India.

IPL News

IPL 2019 Teams Contenders for the Title

The MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending IPL champions, having claimed their third title by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets in 2018 final. Along with CSK and SRH, 6 more teams: 

  • Mumbai Indians (MI) 
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) 
  • Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) 
  • Delhi Daredevils (DD) 
  • Rajasthan Royals (RR) 
  • Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 

They will participate in the upcoming IPL season. Only DD, KXIP and the Virat Kohli-led RCB are yet to win an IPL title.

IPL 2019 Schedule

This season might see the return of the disgraced Australian duo of Steven Smith and David Warner, following their bans for their roles in the ball tampering scandal in March 2018. Smith was supposed to captain RR, while Warner was to lead SRH in the 2018 IPL, but the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) did not allow the Australians to participate in the tournament. It is yet to be determined whether they will lead their sides in the IPL 2019.

Indian Premier League – IPL Matches and News

There will be a total of 60 IPL matches played during the 2019 season, including the group stage, qualifiers, eliminators and the final. CSK returned to the fold in 2018 after serving a 2-year ban. CSK and MI are the two most successful IPL teams, having won the title three times each. The contest between these two teams is certainly not to be missed.

CSK have a 15-7 record against RCB, but these matches are often nail-biting affairs. KXIP, led by Ravichandran Ashwin, was considered the dark horses in 2018. They started off the tournament strongly, but then suffered a string of losses and finished 7th. Like KXIP, KKR, RR and DD had new captains in the previous edition and will hope that their second season in charge brings them more positive results.

Given that there will not be an auction this time, the teams will have to be content with the talent they secured in the 2018 IPL auction. There might yet be a transfer here and there though.

Dhoni’s prowess as a batsman might have dropped off, but he is still an excellent captain. It will not be surprising to see him lead his team to yet another title. However, MI captain Rohit Sharma and SRH captain Kane Williamson have also shown that they possess excellent leadership skills and both stand a good chance. Kohli has been the unluckiest of the lot. For someone who has been in the form of his life with the bat for the past 2 years or so, he has failed to clear the final hurdle of winning the IPL. This could very well be his and RCB’s year.

IPL Predictions, Betting, Odds and Promotions

Warning: Cannot assign an empty string to a string offset in /home/customer/www/cricketprediction365.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/buttons-x/includes/class.btnsx.php on line 3016

As always BetRally India has prepared the best betting odds and special IPL Promotions and Bonuses for our players. Our prediction experts (with a success rate of 91%) has prepared predictions and tips for all IPL matches.

Stay tuned for more information, news and predictions in BetRally India Blog and for the best betting experience, bonuses and promotions of IPL 2019 register to our site BetRally India.


Claim ₹10 000 + 20 Free Spins Now!

Leave a Reply