Cricket Review JLT One-Day Cup – Victoria shock Western Australia, cruise into the Final – October 7, 2018

Warning: Cannot assign an empty string to a string offset in /home/customer/www/ on line 3016

Warning: Cannot assign an empty string to a string offset in /home/customer/www/ on line 3016

Cricket match date: 7th October 2018 

Cricket match time: 05:00 PM IST

Cricket match location: Junction Oval, Melbourne

Cricket match format: ODD (One Day Domestic)

Tournament: JLT One-Day Cup 2018

Team A: Western Australia

Team B: Victoria 

Team A Captain: Ashton Turner

Team B Captain: Peter Handscomb


Claim ₹10 000 + 20 Free Spins Now!


Cricket Match Review:

Victoria came up trumps in the second semifinal played against Western Australia and secured their place in the final of the JLT Cup 2018. Western Australian team was unbeaten leading into the encounter and was the favourite in this game, but it was the Victorian cricket team that surprised everyone with a thumping win in the cricket match.

Victoria captain Peter Handscomb won the toss and elected to bat first at the Junction Oval, Melbourne. The decision felt more like a mistake in the first three overs as the batting team struggled to 10-2 in the fourth over. The pair of the bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile and the wicketkeeper Josh Inglis was responsible for sending back both Cameron White and Travis Dean.

Captain Peter Handscomb joined the opener Marcus Harris, and the duo steadied the ship for Victoria by adding 102 runs for the third wicket. It was Usman Qadir who sent back the destructive Harris after he had scored 73 from 49 balls with 13 fours and two sixes. Glenn Maxwell replaced him but was dismissed by Coulter-Nile for 7 runs.

A partnership was once again required and it was Handscomb and Nic Maddinson, who delivered a stand of 79 runs. Handscomb was sent back for 80 from 73 balls, and Maddinson fell for a well-made 58 from 63 balls. At 228/6 in 37th over, Western Australia had the hopes of wrapping up the Victorian tail quickly and chase an under-300 total.

However, Victoria’s lower order responded to the call and, led by Matthew Short and Chris Tremain, the team crossed the 300-run barrier with ease. With quick runs coming at the end, the Victorian cricket team finished with the score of 332 all out in 49.5 overs. Nathan Coulter-Nile picked up three wickets for 50 runs and was the pick of the bowlers.

Josh Phillipe gave Western Australia a galloping start as they raced to 40/0 in the first four overs. Andrew Fekete dismissed Phillipe, but in-form left-hander D’Arcy Short maintained the momentum, and the chasing team was dominating the bowling. At 121/1 in the 18th over, Western Australia was heading for the spot in the final of the JLT Cup 2018.

The turning point came when Jackson Coleman forced Short to glove an outside leg-stump delivery, which carried to the keeper. The floodgates opened once the Captain, Ashton Turner, was sent back by a brilliant pick up and throw from Glenn Maxwell. Josh Inglis followed suit as he was dismissed in the next over after a useful 63 from 68 balls. The incoming batsmen were not able to raise a partnership, and it was Nic Maddinson who ran through the batting lineup.

Coming into the bowl at the end, Maddinson picked up four wickets for 28 runs in his 4.5 overs spell. Western Australia’s innings was folded up for 268 and conceded a 64-run defeat. Tremain and Fekete grabbed two wickets each while Coleman ended up with one wicket.

Victoria will face Tasmania in the JLT Cup 2018 Final.

Cricket Match Summary:

Victoria 332 all out in 49.5 overs (P Handscomb 80, M Harris 73, N Maddinson 58, N Coulter-Nile 3-50) beat Western Australia 268 in 45.5 overs (J Inglis 63, D Short 44, N Maddinson 4-28, C Tremain 2-48) by 64 runs.

Victoria won the cricket match by 64 runs and enters the JLT 2018 Cup final.

Man of the Match: Marcus Harris

Cricket Statistical Highlights:

Marcus Harris struck his 6th half-century of List-A cricket career; he has no 50-over cricket century.
Peter Handscomb scored his 13th fifty in List-A cricket career.

Nic Maddinson also scored his 13th half-century in List-A cricket. His spell of 4-28 was also the best bowling figures for him in List-A cricket and first four-wicket haul in 50-over cricket as well.

Josh Inglish scored his 5th List-A cricket career.

Team A Cricket Team Playing XI: Western Australia

Josh Philippe, Josh Inglis (wk), D Arcy Short, Ashton Turner (c), Marcus Stoinis, Hilton Cartwright, Cameron Green, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Usman Qadir

Team B Cricket Team Playing XI: Victoria

Cameron White, Marcus Harris, Travis Dean, Peter Handscomb (c & wk), Glenn Maxwell, Nic Maddinson, Matthew Short, Chris Tremain, Jackson Coleman, Fawad Ahmed, Andrew Fekete

Top Batsman:

Peter Handscomb – 80 (73) Victoria

Top Bowler:

Nic Maddinson – 4-28 Victoria

Most Sixes:

M Harris, M Short, C Tremain, F Ahmed, A Tye – 2 Sixes each

LOGO 2 Odds

Claim ₹10 000 + 20 Free Spins Now!

Leave a Reply